George Hewitt Myers Award

Josephine Powell received the George Hewitt Myers Award in 2006
Josephine Powell received the George Hewitt Myers Award in 2006

The Georg Hewitt Myers Award is a prestigious recognition presented by the Textile Museum at George Washington University in Washington, D.C. This award is named in honor of Georg Hewitt Myers, a pioneering collector of textiles and the founder of The Textile Museum. Myers was dedicated to the preservation and promotion of textile art and culture.

The Georg Hewitt Myers Award is typically granted to individuals or organizations that have made significant contributions to the field of textile arts through their scholarship, research, conservation efforts, or support of textile-related initiatives. Recipients of the award are often leaders in the textile community whose work has advanced the understanding and appreciation of textiles as a form of art and cultural expression.

Recipients of Georg Hewitt Myers Award

  • 2022 Elizabeth Wayland Barber
  • 2018 Guido Goldman, collector and philanthropist
  • 2016 Yoshiko Iwamoto Wada, artist and scholar
  • 2015 Bruce P. Baganz, museum leader
  • 2012 Walter Denny, scholar, educator, and author
  • 2011 Milton Sonday, artist and scholar

Find books by Yoshiko Iwamoto Wada, Walter B. Denny, Milton Sonday, Michael Franses, Mattiebelle Gittinger, Jon Thompson, Josephine Powell, Jack Lenor Larsen,