Mattiebelle Gittinger receives the Myers Award

Category: General

The Textile Museum announced today that Mattiebelle Gittinger has been chosen as the 2009 recipient of the Museum’s George Hewitt Myers Award.

The Myers Award, named for The Textile Museum’s founder and given by the Museum’s Board of Trustees, recognizes an individual’s lifetime achievements and exceptional contributions to the field. Previous recipients include scholar Jon Thompson (2008); collector and philanthropist Lloyd Cotsen (2007); the late Josephine Powell, an ethnographer and photographer (2006); and textile designer and collector Jack Lenor Larsen (2005). Gittinger will be honored with the Myers Award in October 2009.

“Mattiebelle Gittinger is a world-renowned expert on Southeast Asian textiles,” said Bruce P. Baganz, president of The Textile Museum’s Board of Trustees. “The Textile Museum has been enriched by Ms. Gittinger’s scholarship, exhibitions and curatorial guidance for more than 30 years. She has built the Museum’s collection of Southeast Asian material into one of the finest holdings in the world,” Baganz continued. “Her publications and other scholarly contributions will have a lasting impact on the study and understanding of Southeast Asian textile traditions.”

Source: TM press release

Find books by Mattiebelle Gittinger,

More articles mentioning: , , , , ,

Previous post: « | Next post: »